Loading Events

« All Events

Research InSightS LIVE Episode 1 – Climate Change: A story of seduction and destruction

3 June, 2021 @ 3:00 pm 4:45 pm

In the run up to World Environment Day on 5 June 2021, the International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) invites you to the first episode of Research InSightS LIVE. Join us to soak up cutting-edge insights by researchers and other critical thinkers and ask them your burning questions. During the event we will have all eyes on the topic of climate and environment, drawing from research in the Amazon rainforest, the Caribbean, Central and East Asia as well as the city of The Hague.Join us to soak up cutting-edge insights by researchers and other critical thinkers and ask them your burning questions. 

Programme

Together with presenter Lynn Zebeda, ISS researchers will reveal their eye-opening insights and share a story of high importance to us all. Through a set of interactive conversations we will get a glimpse into the bigger picture of climate change and environmental degradation, weaving together stories of extraction, geopolitical shifts, justice-based approaches and unseen climate impact. After hearing from the different researchers, the event will end with a dialogue on the alternatives that must be explored.

This gathering will be ISS at its finest: critical, based on real-world insights and through a kaleidoscope of perspectives. Climate veteran or newbie, this topic is relevant for us all and you are welcome to join!

Guests in this episode:

How and where

We will be broadcasting from the Pakhuis de Zwijger studios in Amsterdam. You will be able to join and interact via Zoom.

The broadcast is planned in such a way that guests from around the world will be able to join in (8:00 Peru time – 15:00 Netherlands time – 21:00 Philippines time on 3 June).